Tags

, , , , ,

TGIF! This week I had my first experience with an oven! Okay, not really BUT it was my first time actually baking something from Pinterest.  With Aimee watching every step of the way (and occasionally laughing) I made crescent rolls with cream cheese, also called sopapilla cheesecake on the recipe.

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t really cook or bake for that matter, so believe me when I say that this recipe is very simple.  Yet, I still managed to make it somewhat difficult.  If the look on my face while opening the cans of crescent rolls doesn’t give it away, I don’t know what will.

I did eventually get the cans open but not without a slight squeal when it popped against the sink.  Anyway, the cheesecake is made of two layers of the crescent roll dough and LOTS of cream cheese (sweetened with vanilla and sugar, of course) in the middle.  When layering the cream cheese it was looking pretty thick and I was a little nervous it was too much.  But honestly, there is no such thing as too much cream cheese and as Aimee put it, “cream cheese can do no wrong.”  After I rolled the second layer of dough, I spread melted butter and sprinkled sugar and cinnamon on the top.

The recipe says to bake at 350° for 20-30 minutes.  That’s a pretty broad range for baking (according to Aimee) so we let it bake for 20 minutes then checked on it periodically.  It probably baked for 25-27 minutes, but could have stayed for 30.  At this point your kitchen is going to smell amazing and you’ll want to dig right in, but don’t! Have some patience and let it cool for at least 15 minutes.  We let it cool for 20 to be safe and I must say, I was pretty proud of what I tasted.

After you’ve gone back for seconds (believe me you will) make sure to cover the leftovers and store them in the fridge because of the cream cheese!

This has been a good week for Pinterest projects because this recipe also gets a well deserved 5 pins! I can not wait to bake–and eat!–this again.

