Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m alive!  It’s been two weeks since I last tested out a Pinterest project, but I’m back with easily the best hot chocolate I’ve ever tasted in my life.  Recently I came across a pin showing what was called Polar Express Hot Chocolate and it even claimed to be the best hot chocolate you’ve ever tasted so of course being the easily swayed person I am, I repinned it.  This week Louisiana finally decided to get cold enough for boots, scarves and more importantly, hot chocolate so I jumped on the opportunity quickly because the weather here is bipolar and doesn’t usually stay cold for very long.  I got together the five ingredients it calls for and then made a face when I realized what I had to do.

Stir regularly for 30-40 minutes until chocolate is fully melted and incorporated with other ingredients.

Say what now?  Just like I claim to be the queen of instant mashed potatoes and Easy Mac, I am also the master of instant hot chocolate when I have to make it.  Still, it sounded too good to pass up and I told myself not to be so lazy.  The recipe itself is the easiest thing I’ve done yet because all you do is pour all the ingredients into the pot and stir it.  That’s it! It just takes a little time if you’re impatient like I am.

While pouring everything into the pot, I began to prepare myself for when I went into a diabetic coma.  Did I mention how wonderful it smelled?  Oh, and I had my first experience with an electric can opener (The first picture is my reaction.  It’s a pretty nifty appliance!)

The recipe suggests adding thick, homemade marshmallows to throw in but let’s be honest, if I complained about the time it took to stir the hot chocolate, do you really think I want to figure out how to make homemade marshmallows?  Instead, I dropped in a spoonful of Cool Whip which only added to the sweetness and made drinking the extremely hot drink a little easier.

This stuff tastes like melted fudge in your mouth and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t need a small glass of milk after I finished it.  I love chocolate as much as the next person but I would suggest a smaller mug or a salty biscuit on the side if you decide to try this one!

So was the 30 minute stir worth it?  Absolutely. The only reason it gets four pins instead of five is because it was almost too sweet to finish.

