Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello world!  This week I cooked my first real meal from Pinterest using two separate recipes!  I’m blaming my choices on the fact that I’ve spent the last week repeatedly watching The Godfather for an assignment for one of my classes, but I basically became an Italian and went on a carb overload with crockpot lasagna and Parmesan pull-apart bread.  I cooked this Aimee’s help again (she owns a crockpot and I do not) and then served it to her parents and brother.  They all went back for seconds, so I was pretty proud of myself.
The crockpot lasagna does take a few hours to cook so we got started on that earlier in the afternoon.  The prep time took about 30-45 minutes and was really easy!  I learned how to brown meat, so that was exciting for me too.  Once you have the cheese layer mixed and the sauce mixed, you pretty much just layer it all into the crockpot let it cook!  The recipe says 4-6 hours on low.  It cooked for about 4 hours, but the crockpot was on high for about an hour and it turned out just fine.

The lasagna gets 4 out of 5 pins, but it depends how you like your lasagna.  This was delicious but not as juicy as I’m used to with my mom’s.

The second part of the meal was the pull-apart bread!  I started prepping this one when the lasagna had about a half hour left.  The thought process behind this recipe is so creative and simple, but I never would have thought of it!  You pour melted butter with garlic powder, dried parsley, minced onion and Parmesan cheese at the bottom of a glass pie plate, then place biscuits close together on top.  The directions say to bake it for 12 minutes, I suggest closer to 20.  After the biscuits turn a golden brown, let it sit for five minutes.

After it sat for five minutes, it got a little tricky.  The directions made it sound like it would be as easy as flipping the plate over and BAM! Your Parmesan pull-apart bread is ready to eat.  No.  You would think with all that butter it wouldn’t stick, but it did and I practically had to pull it out of the plate before it finally came out.

As of now, the bread is getting 3 pins.  It tasted okay, but I feel like this recipe could be improved and I plan on testing this one out more.

Overall, the meal was great and I’m already convinced that a crockpot will be one of the first things I’ll buy for myself when I’m living on my own!

