Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

You’ve heard the term “beauty is pain,” right?  Well let me just start this post by saying nothing proves that term true quite like the face mask Aimee and I tried a few months back.  I can’t tell you how much money I’ve spent on Bioré pore strips over the years, but I’d include them as part of my magic bag of beauty products, so when Aimee called to ask if I wanted to try this DIY Pore Strip mask, I was totally up for it.

Right away this project seemed like a winner.  It was cheap and easy, only requiring a tablespoon of unflavored gelatin and two tablespoons of milk.  Mix the two together, pop it in the microwave for 10-15 seconds and then spread it on your face.  Easy, right?  No.  There’s a reason I [unfortunately] have no pictures for this post.  The first is how quickly you have to apply it to your face.  The original blog post warned us about three times how fast the mask hardened into gelatin, so we were too busy trying to apply it to both of our faces before it dried.  Second, it stinks.  Third, I have never been in so much pain in my life (slightly exaggerated, but you get the idea).

Aimee and I tried to let the mask set on our face for the instructed 15 minutes but had to begin taking it off early because it got to the point where we couldn’t move our mouths, and that lack of movement caused us to laugh hysterically which then became extremely painful (if plastic surgery recovery is anything like this, count me out now).  Now, pulling a pore strip off my nose was never comfortable, so I don’t know why I expected pulling a pore strip off of my ENTIRE FACE would be a walk in the park.  Around the eyes and mouth are where it hurt the most and by the time I got to my forehead I was in so much pain and losing a part of my eyebrow so I ended up just washing the rest off of my face.

pinrating1This is my first post to get 1 of 5 pins, ever.  It hurt, smelled bad and honestly, my face didn’t feel or look any better.  IF you try this one, I suggest maybe limiting the application to only your nose.

