Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m kind of blown away that it’s been nine months since I last updated this blog.  I’m even more shocked that I didn’t lose any followers in the process.  Quite the opposite actually, I seemed to have gained new ones!  While I may have been AWOL from my posts, I have documented each Pinterest project I’ve done. I’m just too lazy to write about it, I’ll admit.  For the next few weeks, pretty much every update I’ll have will be food related because BREAKING NEWS: I live on my own now.

Ok, I’ve lived on my own for six months so it’s not exactly breaking news…and okay I have two roommates and a puppy so I’m not really on my own. Nevertheless, I still have to feed myself these days so a huge shout out to Pinterest for keeping me from starving myself.  Or at least from living off of fast food and pb&j.

So moving on to what everyone really wants to know: my experience with gooey butter cake aka chess squares.  Rewind to sometime last October.  It was Aimee’s first weekend visiting me in my new city so of course we had to bake something sweet!

You start with only five ingredients: yellow cake mix, eggs, butter, cream cheese, and powdered sugar.

Chess Square IngredientsThe squares are made in two layers.  The first layer is a mixture of the yellow cake mix, melted butter, and one egg.  Once it’s mixed into a soft dough, press it into the baking dish.  For the top layer, mix the powdered sugar, cream cheese, and other two eggs for about 2 minutes or until smooth and pour it into the dish.

Once that’s done it goes into the oven for 40-50 minutes.  We let it cool for about 10 minutes before cutting into squares and voila!

IMG_0511pinrating5This recipe got an easy 5 of 5 pins. It’s extremely easy to make despite the fact that I still didn’t have a mixer at the time (making the soft dough with a whisk = complete pain).

